A Novel Playlist

13 Oct

I get in these phases when writing– I’ll listen to the same tune over and over and over–What I’m reading right now, Kazuo Ishiguro’s latest, a short story collection (after six novels, including A Pale View of the Hills, Remains of the Day, and Never Let Me Go), called Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music & Nightfall , is a bit like a musical composition in five movements.

After that run-on sentence…

Repetition is soothing. Once I’m finished reading, I’ll offer a few words on Ishiguro’s collection.

The following five tunes compose the nocturnal soundscape that’s inspiring my work at this moment.

#1: Q. Lazzarus’s “Goodbye Horses”
Featured in Silence of the Lambs back in the days. Remember when Buffalo Bill has his moment–tucking away his member, putting on his lipstick, groaning inhumanly?–

According to my Itunes, I’ve played the song 575 times. Sick.

#2 Juana Molina’s “Un Dia”
Something about this Argentine songstress inspires creativity…

#3 Telepopmusik “Just Breathe”
Reminiscent of my summer 2008 in the muffuckin’ French Riviera! First got hold of this tune from my buddy Frances Angevine.

#4 “Tezeta” aka Nostalgia by Mulatu Astatke Ethiopiques Vol. IV. Much of this volume is in Jim Jarmusch’s film Broken Flowers.

#5 Animal Collective, “My Girls” in Merriweather Post Pavillion. Saw these guys at Prospect Park this past August, sublimely shiffaced. Inspired line: ‘I just want 4 walls and adobe slats for my girls.”

Leave a Reply

