Pakistani Art at the Asia Society NYC: Faiza Butt's Get Out of my Dreams II

5 Oct
gender blendin' sugar daddies

gender blendin' sugar daddies

Says the Lahore-born, London dweller, Faiza Butt:

“The inspiration for my work stems directly from my sense of identity (gender/cultural) and the times we live in. I create work by chancing upon potent journalistic images, text, encounters, and experiences, as I conduct my affairs as an artist, a mother, and a woman. I have focused on gender issues since the beginning of my artistic career, and feminist debate remains an issue very close to my heart. My work reflects my varied cross-cultural experiences and is a reflection on the instability and uncertainty of our time.

My choice of medium was a reactionary response to my years as a student at the Slade School of Art, where large, physical, muscular and “technologically advanced” work held more worth than contemplative intellectual responses. I started to create ambitious, highly detailed drawings with ink pens that rival “spectacles” of work and focus on art historical and gender issues.”

-courtesy of the “Hanging Fire exhibit at NYC’s Asia Society”

2 Responses to “Pakistani Art at the Asia Society NYC: Faiza Butt's Get Out of my Dreams II”

  1. Aatish October 12, 2009 at 11:01 pm #

    that aint paki. arent those the photo booth pics found in kandahar after the fall of the taliban? or at least inspired by them? http://inmotion.magnumphotos.com/essay/taliban-2009

    and why didnt you ever tell me you had a blog? im deeply offended.

    • nandininessa October 13, 2009 at 12:42 am #

      oh yes it is, darling, check the artist’s work at the Asia Society’s website.

      Faiza Butt is a Lahore-born, London-dwelling artist. Perhaps she’s reintegrated the Taliban-wallah photo booth pics into her work. Both Get out of my Dreams I and II are featured at the Asia Society in NYC.

      OK, Mssr. Aatish? And, sorry to offend, but you’ve been trekking the world, whilst I’ve been in blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

